A place for all your Zelda treasure

Majora’s Mask for the 3DS is out today, so that means my Legend of Zelda “craft-down” is over. But before we all go off to play the game, I have one last dose of Zelda crafting for you… well technically two.

Orange You Crafty - Legend of Zelda Treasure Chest header

Orange You Crafty - Legend of Zelda Treasure Chest B&AFirst up is the Legend of Zelda-esque treasure chest I made for my son’s extreme Christmas request. There’s actually a really detailed, and seemingly not too terribly difficult tutorial to make your own here, with sound no less. But with all the other things I was making and preparing for Christmas last year, I didn’t have time for that. Luckily, I found an unfinished chest that closely resembles a Zelda game chest at Joann. We were going to add sound the lazy way by dissecting a ‘record-your-own’ greeting card, but sadly we couldn’t find one anywhere at the time.


Orange You Crafty - Ocarina of Time chestI decorated this chest like one seen in Ocarina of Time or Majora’s Mask. I used Minwax gel stain in walnut and Rustoleum Ultra Cover flat black paint for the outside. I bought the little 8 oz – 1/2 pint cans for both and had plenty. For the inside, I covered the main part with golden yellow felt and then stained the top. It’s not an exact replica, but it’s close enough. And, it’s a super cool place to store all your Legend of Zelda swag.

Orange You Crafty - Legend of Zelda Treasure Chest fullThe 2nd thing I want to share is all our Zelda-themed Valentine’s Day goodies since today is the Valentine’s Day party at my son’s school. I’m glad I remembered he got this Legend of Zelda shirt because, A- I don’t have to make him another Valentine’s Day shirt and B- it ties Valentine’s Day and all his Zelda valentine goodies together perfectly. Hooray.

Orange You Crafty - Hyrule valentines
The heart candies on the valentines worked perfectly!

Orange You Crafty - Zelda Delivery BagI caved on the delivery bag request, too. After a 4 hour nighttime craft session on Wednesday – I went from idea to finished bag. Now he will be able to not only receive valentines in his Zelda postbox, but also deliver valentines from his Zelda delivery bag. I’ve created a monster. 😉

Leave a Reply

